Beautiful Things

Photo by Bethany Brown

Ever wonder if God can make beauty from your junk?

I was pondering that very question on my way to work this morning with the above, rather blurry sunrise (one of those that Tiffany says is God-copyrighted, ie. too beautiful to photograph to full justice, not to mention taken on my cell while driving, which I do not recommend) and listening to the Gungor song “Beautiful Things.”

If that doesn’t inspire those of us with junk, I don’t know what will.

This is especially real to me as I’ve been having to do some things lately that are scary for me. I did some of them today as a matter of fact. And I’m constantly reminded that not five years ago, I would have been utterly incapable of some of them. Yet here God is enabling me to do them now.

But still, the problem keeps popping back up in odd places and I wonder … can God really finish this conflict once and for all?

And here’s what He reminds me:

And when I bring you back, people will say, ‘This former wasteland is now like the Garden of Eden! The abandoned and ruined cities now have strong walls and are filled with people!’ Then the surrounding nations that survive will know that I, the Lord, have rebuilt the ruins and replanted the wasteland. For I, the Lord, have spoken, and I will do what I say. Ezekiel 36:35-36

If you’re life feels like a wasteland and you’ll never be able to beat the baggage you carry with you, remember that when God promises, he goes hard after them, even when it takes some time. Watch for what he will do with your ashes. He’s already doing so much with mine. For he the Lord has spoken to you dear girl and he will do what he says.

One thought on “Beautiful Things

  1. Mom says:

    Taking pictures while driving?

Leave a Reply

