Writing: Good Enough for God?

Photo by Bethany Brown

One thing I’ve struggled with for a long time is: how can my writing bring glory to God’s kingdom?

Of course there are always those Christian books that I could write, I’ve even thought of writing my own devotionals a time or two, but that’s not what I’m really interested in. And honestly, I find many of the Christian books and movies out there a bit corny. (I’m not trying to offend anyone who likes them, that’s just my opinion). So I realized that wouldn’t work. And just to clarify, I did write a Christian movie script, but ended up throwing it away….

What I really love to write about is murder; mostly murder mysteries or scripts about detectives solving murder cases. Another interest I have lately had has been involved in the fantasy world with mostly werewolves, but also vampires, etc., which means that there will be things in there that God may not appreciate.

Anyway, after, or rather while, writing these I often think to myself: How is this glorifying God? Are these words I’m writing for others to say raising up or bringing down God’s name? Would people be able to tell from this writing that I’m a Christian?

And honestly, many times the answer’s no.

During these times I refer back to 1 Peter 4: 10, “Each of you should use whatever gift you have received to serve others, as faithful stewards of God’s grace in its various forms”.

This means that everything I do, even in my writing, should bring praise to God, right?

I feel like many people have this conflict. After all, not all of us are called to be pastors or missionaries, and even many of them have trouble at times because the Christian walk is not always an easy one. So how are we supposed to have a have a career in such a worldly environment and yet maintain a Christian attitude?

Here’s the basic conclusion I’ve formed. I believe that God has given me writing talents and abilities for a reason and He gave me the passions and the interests that I have, even when it comes to what I’m writing about. So I’m going to use those passions and interests I have to the best of my ability and pray that perhaps I will reach those who may not be Christians; perhaps that it will attract those people who need Christ, so that when they want to meet me or want to know more about me, I can introduce Christ to them.

And of course this isn’t just with writing, but can be with any career choice. That’s why I think it’s great when Christians become or are around with things that may not be considered “Christianly” because those are the people we are called to witness to. We just have to be careful, however, that we are not pulled into that environment, but rather shine through it.

One thought on “Writing: Good Enough for God?

  1. Esther says:

    Thanks for that! As an aspiring writer, it always is encouraging to see other writers facing the same problems I face.

    Thanks.

    Blessings,
    Esther
    (joyful-maiden.blogspot.com)

Leave a Reply

