Perfect Florist: $$$, Marriage Based on Love: Priceless

Bob and his sweetheart Sue on their wedding day in 1958. Their marriage based on love lasted until death do us part…45 years, when Sue died in 2003.

With only one post left after this one in my series on relationships I decided it was time to admit to you all that I am a closet romantic. I don’t think I see this in myself until I am in the middle of some ridiculous fleeting second and I have a “come to Jesus” moment where I am forced to acknowledge my own romantic notions.

This happened recently when I discovered a small town flower shop I had deemed at the age of 11 would be my wedding florist was going out of buisness. I was actually devasted and while I joked about having one week to pick a suitable man, get to know each other, get engaged, and get married, all so I could use my florist ,I was actually a little sad that this simple aspect of my wedding would never happen, assuming I ever have a wedding.

Now for this post, I had already planned ahead about using a quote given to me by one of my ‘marrieds’ that was recited to her by her father, Bob Startup. It was a simple quote with a very true and deep meaning; “Wait on God, not the man.” And as I re-read this quote I heard a ‘and definetly not the florist.’ I think, as single or dating young women and men we often find ourselves obsessed with small, silly things that won’t matter in the long run.

The very same ‘married’ who shared this quote with me posed a question to me that will be my challenge to all of us out there waiting on God to place us in a position of meeting our appropriate guy (or girl for our male readers). That question is, will you still love them when they have gained twenty-five pounds and/or have lost some or all of their hair? Because the cold, real truth is if you would not feel the same then the right florist, dress, cake, or even church will NOT make a difference. That is what I believe Bob Startup meant about waiting on God.

You see, Mr. Startup knew that the only thing that mattered in a marriage was love and he knew that love had to start, with both people, in a love relationship with God. He also understood that God knew what He was doing and would, if you were meant to be married, put you in a position to meet that person that you would love no matter how much they expanded in size or lost in hair follicles in 25, 30, or 50 years, and that love didn’t rely on a florist. It relied on God.

Bob and Sue’s marriage relied on God a lot in the 45 years they were married. Even through a brain injury that meant Bob and his daughters cared for Sue at home for several years. She may not have been the woman he married, but they were still very much in love.

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Perfect Florist: $$$, Marriage Based on Love: Priceless

  1. beton says:

    Nice read, I just passed this onto a friend who was doing a little research on that. And he actually bought me lunch because I found it for him smile Therefore let me rephrase that: Thank you for lunch!

  2. You have brought up a very fantastic points , appreciate it for the post.

Leave a Reply

