I Should Have Got My Ears Checked

Photo by Bethany Brown
Broken heart

A tale is a reciting of events that may or may not be true; a malicous or false story; gossip. Not one single part of that definition seems very lovely to me at all, yet everyday for almost a year I allowed myself to believe that I was part of the special kind known to us girls as a fairytale.

It all started when I accepted a dinner invite from a good friend. We wanted to catch up and see how the other was doing as I had just transfered back schools to my hometown where I was studying Biology. I was newly 19 and excited to see him again. I had always had a bit of a crush. We ended up dating for almost a year before one warm January evening he and I broke up. On paper, we were a fairytale. We had several things in common and similar life goals. However, the quirky girl who I was and will be until I am old and grey was not the girl he had envisioned, and I let him, for too long, believe I was. I was trapped in a fairytale complete with comedic moments and lovely dinners, but no real love.

In the first 3 verses of 1 Corinthians 13 it tells us that without love, no matter what we do it is nothing. In the end, all the dinners and jokes couldn’t hide the fact that he didn’t love who I am really and I didn’t love him enough to step out of my own little fairytale. You see I believe now in something I call fairytruths. Beautiful real life truths about relationships and how they are formed and carried out for many years. Happily many days after, complete with rough patches and hardships, these truths are all established under the beautiful promise given to us by God that he has a future for us (Jeremiah 29:11), and if those plans include a love of the marriage kind I will, as I hope you do too, embrace it.

Even if those plans plans do not include that we must, as Christians, hold steady to the fact the we have a truly remarkable God who gave a love for the world unlike any other (John 3:16) just so we could spend eternity with him. We must hang on tightly in our faith that he has plans for our future that allow us joy and an opportunity to worship our God. I have no idea if I will ever be that girl that someone falls in love with, and honestly some days the not knowing what God has planned causes a rather heated discussion between he and I.

I do believe that one day though I will look back and understand why my life worked in certain ways. I belief this because of my fairytale expierence. I would be a different girl and I wouldn’t be blogging for Unfading, nor would I have met some of the truly amazing people I have met in the past couple of years that I now count as friends. I see God working in my life now better because of that expierance and in closing this week I share this quote with you that both made me laugh for the first time after the breakup and went far in inspiring this fairytale series.

True love comes quietly, without banners or flashing lights. If you hear bells, get your ears checked.
Erich Segal

Leave a Reply

