Single or Singled Out?

Photo by Bethany Brown
Wear those bare ring fingers proudly!

Do you ever feel like there is neon sign flashing above your head proclaiming your singleness to the world and causing everyone to stare at you like a leper? Okay, good I am not the only one.

Even on days when my single status is the last thing on my mind, one comment from someone can make it seem like instead of going about my day in a productive manner I should be scouring the land for someone, anyone, to date. Never mind things like compatibility or whether or not God is even ready for me to be in a couple. I just need to be somebody’s other half. I think this is where the magic of fairytales captures us and we begin to see ourselves as lacking in some way because this magic moment has not happened to us.

When I was younger I used to think that if I could just be normal then my life, my dating life especially, would suddenly look like all those romantic movies I had seen. I rooted my own identity in my ability to be in a couple. It wasn’t until recently when I started interviewing singles like myself that I learned something very important about relationships that was a common thread with Christian and non-Christian singles alike.

That was the importance of maturity. Whether it was spiritual or emotional maturity, they all agreed that if both parties weren’t mature enough to handle the relationship then it would fail and this thought process was confirmed when I spoke to several married women as well.

To further encourage my belief that a certain level of maturity is needed in a relationship I found my answer in the book of Luke. In chapter 2 verse 52 it says the Jesus grew in stature and wisdom as well as favor with God and men. This means that if I, as a Christian, am living a life that is Christ-like I should be striving to grow in that same way.

Well while being 5’5 ½” isn’t much for the stature, I am growing in wisdom. Now, whether or not I am at the time in my life where I should be the other half of a couple is yet to be seen or if that is even part of God’s plan for me, but I do know either way that I am going to be the person God wants me to be, single or in a relationship.

So, to all my single ladies, unplug that neon sign and have a blast just being your wonderful self praising God and having a beautiful, unfading real life.

Do you ever feel the pressure to be in a relationship when you’re not? How do you stand strong against it? Let us know in the comments.

6 thoughts on “Single or Singled Out?

  1. I am having a hard time fathoming how much research you had to do for this data, but I appreciate it and I agree. You make a lot of sense.

  2. Thank you for the good writeup. It in reality used to be a entertainment account it. Look advanced to far added agreeable from you!

  3. […] Let’s just say I had to use every ounce to concentrate back on Tiffany’s marriage posts and remember that I’m waiting for my own non-fairy tale, this one was so fun. As it is, we […]

    • Beroj says:

      Maha, well if you love someone that much and you’re still not cmeelotply srue she or she will return your feelings then saying these words can be difficult and even frightening.and lol the period of waiting differs between ppl some would wait forever but most would not roa’a, lol leh alnazra altsha2omeya dy! tra wallah I still believe there are good ppl who are willing to fall truly in love and the idea that they’re not many even makes more special when you do find that someone Lel2saf alot of guys say it these days without fully understanding the meaning of it and a lot of girls believe them

  4. […] relationship series, Fairy-Truth 2. Here’s Fairy-Truth 1 as well as posts she’s done on singleness, commitment and the original Fairy Tale […]

  5. I simply want to say I’m beginner to blogging and site-building and honestly liked this web blog. Almost certainly I’m planning to bookmark your blog . You definitely come with fabulous posts. Thanks a bunch for sharing your blog.

Leave a Reply

