Dreaming

Dreaming

When I was a young girl, I dreamed

Of princes and riding off to sunsets far away

Happily-ever-after was a dream that would come true

Someday, I knew it would happen, I knew.

When I was a teenager, I dreamed

Of guys that would ask me to dances and take me on dates all around

Showing off a guy to my friends was a dream that would come true

Someday, I knew it would happen and I would be confident, I knew.

When I was a college student, I dreamed

Of guys that would see I was worth fighting for

My friends’ happily-ever-after made me confident my dream would come true

Someday, I knew it would happen and I would be complete, I knew.

When I was a young adult, I dreamed

But there was no man I could see

My dreams had become what I thought was owed to me

Someday, it might not happen, I knew.

When I struggled and fumed, so angry that I might not get my dream

Jesus helped me dream anew, of wide-open adventures that were joyfully free

Now daily I’m choosing to trust in my Jesus and His dreams for me

Each day that I delight in my Jesus, His dreams come true for me, I know.

Beloved sisters,

Perhaps like many of you, I grew up watching Disney princess movies to the point that I had them memorized. And perhaps like many of you, I naturally assumed that, if I was a “good girl” who did everything right (and sang beautifully to woodland animals?? LOL), I was owed a Prince Charming. It would just happen naturally. But things haven’t been turning out like that for me, at least not yet. One day, just a few months ago, God challenged me to get out of “Disney princess” mode. He challenged me to step outside of my own dreams and plans for my life, and to work instead on living out Psalm 37:4-5: “Take delight in the Lord, and He will give you the desires of your heart. Commit your way to the Lord; trust in Him, and He will act.” Hear me, sisters, I don’t think God is saying in these verses that He will give us whatever we want if we’re good enough. I think He’s saying to us that when we delight in Him, that is, when we open ourselves up to making His dreams for our lives our own, then those are dreams that will come true. Keep reading this website as together we explore how that looks for us day-to-day. Confession: I seriously struggle with how to do this on a daily basis! But that’s one of the great things about this online community, and hopefully about other girls and women who are your friends/family/mentors, etc. and who are in your life to support you. We’re here to help each other figure out what it means to grow deeper in love with Jesus every day of our lives. So let’s take a step together, ok? This week, let’s write down somewhere some of the dreams we have, whether it be for a kind of relationship, friendship, what we want our families to look like, what our ideal job is, etc. Then let’s take one of those dreams for each day and spend some time in prayer, asking God to help us see whether that’s a dream that allows us to delight in Him, or whether that’s a dream that we need to allow Him to transform. Whatever the answers from God are that you hear, remember that God is love, that you are His beloved daughter, and that His dreams are for you to have a hope and future of love. We can trust His heart, and trust His dreams for our lives. So let’s explore and trust and dream God’s dreams together, beloved.

2 thoughts on “Dreaming

  1. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you create this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. thank you

Leave a Reply

