Summer Plans

Photo by Tiffany Taylor

Spending time outside, swimming, playing Flashlight Tag, sleeping in, hanging out with friends, watching lightening bugs. These are all some of my favorite things about summer. Oh yes, also, no school! Summer can also = a summer job, which can seem less appealing than everything else we could do during the summer.

This summer, I wanted to try to get a job that would help improve my resume. People are always saying you should improve your resume and try to gain experience. In high school I worked at Chick-fil-a, which was really a pretty good summer job. This year, however, I’ve had trouble finding a job. I had an awesome summer job lined up and I was going to get to work on a really fun project with one of my professors, and it fell through. Now, I’m going to be working at a summer reading program for elementary school children. Even now, I’m a little worried about my summer job – I’m thankful that I have a job, but I’m not sure I’ll like it and I’m not sure I have the right experience to do a good job. These thoughts have been on my mind and heart lately, but in prayer and conversations with my family and friends, I’ve been reminded that God opens up opportunities for us and God closes off opportunities; He knows the right situation, the right time for what’s best for us.

Someone shared this passage with me earlier this week. It’s a verse that is familiar to many people, and is often shared when students are about to graduate, but someone shared it with me earlier this week and I was reminded of how this speaks to us every single day in our lives.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

What we do during the summer can seem insignificant, but we grow and learn in all parts of our lives, and even a summer job can hold surprises in store for us. We can celebrate the fact that God gives us the patience and the confidence for whatever situation we find ourselves in, whether it’s spending time with friends, working, or simply enjoying the restfulness of summer.

What are your plans for the summer? What does it mean to you that you can trust God for each day of it? What’s your favorite verse about God’s plans for the future? Let us know in the comments.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

