Why Does Modesty Matter?

Photo by Bethany Brown

One of my friends once said, “I can wear whatever I want because I know that I’m waiting to give myself to my husband.” Some people say that modesty is simply making sure everything important is covered up when you go out in public.  However, modesty begins in your heart. It is not about what you wear, but about sharing your true self, free of earthly provoking garments.

We live in a judgmental world.  When people see a young woman dressed in a short skirt and low-cut top, their first thought is not, “she must love the Lord.”  In such a fallen world, it is important for Christian women to be examples.  The Bible gives us an example of this in 1st Timothy 2:9 that states, “Likewise also that women should adorn themselves in respectable apparel, with modesty and self-control…”  When you are dressed modestly, it allows people to be focused on your heart, personality, passions and feelings, instead of your appearance.

Furthermore, we have a duty to help our brothers in Christ out with their walk.  Men are very visual creatures and experience lustful thoughts when they see a woman in provocative clothing.  It doesn’t matter if she is standing up to sing praise songs in the choir or at the swimming pool, both can be dangerous places for men.

I’m five feet, seven inches tall and most of my height comes from my legs. I have spent most of my life tugging and wiggling clothes around to try and make them look long enough.  On the other side of this, my best friend is barely five feet tall and doesn’t have to worry nearly as much about finding shorts that don’t look like underwear!  Needless to say, I’ve spent my fair share of time worrying about my clothes.  Over the years, I’ve come up with some tips on being modest:

  • Are you trying to impress a guy?  Impress him with your mind and your heart, instead of your body.
  • Think about where you are.  Your short PJ shorts and tank top are fine for a slumber party but it would be a good idea to put on more clothes if there are boys around.
  • Never underestimate the power of tights and leggings. Is your dress just a little too short? Look for a fun pair of tights to go underneath.
  • Tank tops are a girl’s best friend. These can go underneath shirts that are too low or too short to make them much more appropriate.
  • The pool is a hard place to be modest! I’ve found that I feel a lot more comfortable in bathing suits that have ruffles to cover more or boy shorts bottoms. Also, wearing a cover-up whenever you are out of the pool is a great way to stay covered.
  • When you get dressed, move around a little bit.  Make sure everything stays covered when you bend over, walk and lean back.  We’ve all found that dress that is really cute but just a little too revealing.  A good rule of thumb is that if you have to tug at an article of clothing to make it appropriate, it probably is too short!

What are some tips for modesty you’ve discovered? What are some other Bible verses about modesty? Share them with us in the comments!

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

