A Challenge for Summer: Letting the Bible Make a Difference!

Photo by Bethany Brown

The final bell has rung at last, and you are free from the “bonds” of textbooks and homework assignments! Congratulations!

I hope that you will allow me the chance to explain my next words because I have a challenge for you. Even though summer is here, I challenge you to continue studying.

Still with me?

Now I don’t mean for you to break out the algebra books or pick up a copy of Romeo and Juliet (although I am sure that your future teachers would be super impressed if you did). No, I want you to study the Bible. Why? Because it can make a difference, if you let it, in every facet of your life.

Care to try it out with me? Open up your Bible to the book of Acts, chapter 3. (Don’t have a Bible? Don’t worry about it! You can view the Bible online for free…here is one of my favorite sites: http://www.biblegateway.com/)

This is the story of a crippled man whom Jesus healed. Every day, the crippled man was carried to the gate of a temple (called Beautiful – how’s that for irony?) where he would beg of the passersby. [The Bible says he begged for “alms,” and if you dig a little deeper (a simple Google search is a great start!) you will find that the meaning of this word is basically charitable giving, mostly to the poor.] Peter and John (two of the Twelve Disciples) are making their way into the temple when they are met with the lame man. He begs of them for material items, and in return Peter asks the man to look at him. Tell me, when a parent or other person of authority is staring straight into your eyes (no matter the reason), don’t you take them just a little more seriously? So the man obliges hoping for a donation, but Peter throws him a curveball.

“Silver and gold I do not have, but what I do have I give you: In the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, rise up and walk.” (v.6)

So the man did. The Bible says immediately his feet and anklebones received strength. He joined Peter and John, walking into the temple and praising God.

Verses nine and ten go on to say that everyone around them recognized that the lame man who sat, every day of his life, at the temple gate begging was now the one who was walking and praising God, and the people “were filled with wonder and amazement at what happened to him.”

I dare say that the majority of those witnesses, so long as their hearts were open, made a change in their lives that day. They made a change, not because the miracle was made in their own particular lives, but because they witnessed what the God of Abraham was able to do.

We may not witness those types of miracles today, but our God is still able. Even the little things that go on in your life, He cares and wants to help. John 15:16 says, “You did not choose Me, but I chose you and appointed you that you should go and bear fruit, and that your fruit should remain, that whatever you ask the Father in My name, He may give you.”

If you believe these words, recorded in the Bible for all generations to share, then they will make a difference in your life. And once you allow the seed of faith in your heart to grow, you will see the fruits be borne in the situations and people around you. The Bible makes a difference.

Well guess what girls! We just studied! I pray that this has planted a seed of excitement in your heart and that you will take my challenge to continue your studies this summer. I will be right along side you; learning, struggling, and growing in Him.

In time,

{Lindsey}

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

